Mitchell Chamale, Director of Combat Night & Pro MMA Fighter

Mitchell "Mama's Boy" Chamale
Mitchell Chamale with Duane "Bang" Ludwig
Mitchell Chamale with Duane “Bang” Ludwig

If you are within driving distance of Mount Dora you have to check out this gym. It is conveniently located next to Gold’s Gym and has a huge parking lot so you’ll never have issues with getting a spot. The gym itself is extremely clean and spacious. The instructor has great knowledge and he does a great job at making sure his students understand and are able to apply the knowledge during training. The members are friendly and helpful as well.

Brandon Elliot, EMT

Brandon Elliot
Liliana Lozano, Brandon Elliot, and Rita Rojas
Liliana, Brandon, and Rita

Before I start my drive to Mt. Dora, I’d just like to take a moment and say what an honor and a pleasure it is to train at Grappling Mastery.  It is a rare thing indeed to find a coach as knowledgeable and technically proficient as Brian Ruscio; what’s even more impressive is his obvious passion for the sport and the personal investment he makes in his students. If you want to be a more complete fighter, or even just a talented hobbyist, Grappling Mastery is the place to be. Many of you reading this are part of the first responder community, eligible for a discount, and *everyone* can try the first 30 days free. If this seems like a shameless plug, well that’s because it is: in my short time at the school my game has grown leaps and bounds, and I couldn’t imagine training anywhere else. Come check it out!

Jessica Hartman Donahue, Mother

This place is amazing! It has been such a great experience for my 11 year old son. His self confidence has gone up so much in just a few weeks. Brian and the other instructors do such a great job encouraging and teaching the moves.

Jonathan Vazquez, Business Owner

jvazqueztestimo“I am 33 but have always been fascinated with martial arts ever since I was a kid but have never had a chance to get into it. Well today I took my first Muay Thai class and I must say, I was very impressed! Brian is great and so are the other coaches. They are very patient and make sure you learn the proper techniques before moving on. They are very serious at what they do but yet make it a fun experience in the process. I was taking krav maga at another school last month but wasnt really getting much out of it. Plus they only offered 2 krav maga classes per week. At Grappling Mastery they offer multiple classes per week on mornings, afternoons and evenings. So you will definitely get your money’s worth and more. Plus you get 30 days free to try it out. Can’t really beat that anywhere else. I could immediately tell the difference in this school and their commitment to teaching compared to the other one. I was very pleased! Looking forward to training at Grappling Mastery for a long time and giving it my best effort!”

Update: “I am happy to be a part of the BANG Muay Thai Mastery team. Coach Brian Ruscio is an excellent instructor. Very down to earth, knowledgeable, patient, and takes the time to work one on one with you when necessary. The people here have become like family. I can proudly say that I have learned so much in a short period of time thanks to everyone at Muay Thai Mastery that has helped me in one way or another. I look forward to it every time!”

 

Freddy Batista, Army Veteran, Father & Photographer

"Chino" Batista Reviews Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery
Brian and the rest of the Grappling Mastery Team bring a level of professionalism that sets the standard in our regional area. He leads with truth and integrity and teaches complex moves in a way that could easy be published in Jiu Jitsu for Dummies. His pride and passion to honor the sport is evident in how he has marketed the Grappling Mastery brand. All in all it is an honor and privilege to have Brian building the foundation of kids love and understanding of this sport and way of life.

Sgt. Tony Tindell, Army Medic & Firefighter/Paramedic

Army Medic, Tony Tindell in Afghanistan
Firefighter, Tony Tindell Reviews Grappling Mastery
Firefighter, Tony Tindell Reviews Grappling Mastery

You hear a lot of stories about returning Combat vets. They’re Angry, Drinking, Depressed or have PTSD; well I’m glad to say this isn’t me and there one very distinct reason for that, besides my wife; Grappling Mastery. I was still in Ghazni Afghanistan when I contacted Professor Ruscio initially. I explained my need for a coping mechanism upon my return and he offered to help. I’ve been training with Grappling Mastery for four month now, since returning from the battlefield. In addition to BJJ he taught me patience, diligence a bit of humility. I’m just not angry anymore, thanks to Brian & Rita not to mention the Blue Belts, Jorge & Chuck stopping mid roll to instruct me on how to defend their attack. Thanks to the peace & clarity I’ve found I’m presently back to work at my FD, cleared my medical directer, prepping for a promotional exam in 60 days and gearing up for the NAGA World Championships in NJ in less than two months! Professor Brian Ruscio and Coach Rita are absolutely awesome. They’ve cultivated a environment that makes training sessions feel like family gatherings, but with grappling. Jorge is going inverted again on Alec, Tom asking me why I don’t tap, Tracie’s trying to wrap up Torrie and Brian’s trying keep the bearded beast from sweeping him. We’re all sore & tired and I’m loving every bit of it. I recommend Grappling Mastery to any returning Combat Veteran. It’s a safe environment of respect & strategic grappling where you can roll, choke, and arm bar to hearts content, which quells the rage within. Call Brian, you’ll agree, first 30 days are free, nothing to lose and everything to gain. Respectfully, SGT Tony Tindell Army Medic Iraq 2003 Afghanistan 2014

Jorge “The Animal” Rodriguez, Army Veteran & LEO

Jorge Rodriguez reviews Grappling Mastery
I’ve been training Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu for the past three and half years. I started in NY City and upon my move to Florida I started my search for a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu school that was welcoming and offered quality instructions with a variety and flexible schedule. During my search I came across many schools and I visited them all. Finally I came across Brian and Grappling Mastery, here I found a home. A school and an instructor with fundamentals and tons of knowledge. I did not only found a home for myself and my unorthodox ground game but I also found a coach that was willing to take me under his wings and show me everything he knows with out restrictions. He offers the same drive, passion and unrestricted knowledge to everyone that walks trough the door and his love for teaching and the art makes him exceptional and above anyone I have known. It was Brian’s passion and drive that made me take the next step and make the decision to fight MMA. Brian devoted quality time to my personalized training and ensured and re- assured I was ready in all aspects, physically and mentally. Because of his great coaching and care and the support of all members of the team, my first MMA victory is attributed to Brian and the Grappling Mastery team. I am proud to represent and be part of such an awesome school and have such an awesome coach like Brian Ruscio. ” It doesn’t get any better than this.”

Kathern Uvalle, Self Employed Mother

Kathern Uvalle, Self Employed Mother testimonial of Grappling Mastery

I would like to share my experience. I joined October 2015 and wanted to be sure to give a review based on many months after I joined. I am new to BJJ, started 6 months prior to joining here. I am very happy I made the switch. If you are looking to train somewhere that you are being taught proper techniques, keeping up with IBJJF rules, explaining the points and answer any questions you have, this is the place. Professor Brian Ruscio clearly is someone that will help you achieve what you are looking to learn or accomplish. Whether it be self defense, street fight or competition. He is always willing to demonstrate, give alternatives and is very professional. I hope this may help anyone that is looking for a school in Lake County area. Glad I walked in those doors and took advantage of the free 30 day trail. Great place and atmosphere to train!

Keith Donaldson, Silhouette Artist

Keith Donaldson, Silhouette Artist

After training in several other grappling schools, I am so pleased to have found the best at last! Not only is Brian very thorough and proficient in jiu jitsu techniques but his vast wrestling background really compliments and solidifies the actual application of the positions, and techniques. Multiple options are shown for both submissions and escapes and the same techniques are worked on for that week which helps reinforce them before moving on. The difference of both the sport and self defense applications is also distinguished and both are offered.
The atmosphere and morale of the school is very friendly supportive and you will feel the group effort and respect for one another, without passing judgments. I am really impressed at the patience and willingness of Brian to work one on one with each student during class and in private training. It’s also great to see the videos that are uploaded when I can’t physically be at the school but still want to mentally be present. In this day and age it is very difficult to find an instructor with people skills as well as a wealth of experience. With Brian you have the total package! I drive a half an hour from the Orlando area every time, but it’s totally worth it! Especially with affordable dues.

Erin Mullen, Mother

Erin Mullen with her son, Sammy
Grappling Mastery’s BJJ, and Muay Thai classes have taught me so much. Brian Ruscio is a great instructor and I would highly recommend his classes. I initially joined to learn self defense, and after a few months feel able to defend myself in any situation. I enjoyed Brian’s classes and instruction so much that my interest has gone beyond self defense and progressed into a passion for Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.

Deetra Staton, Mother and Zumba Instructor

Deetra Staton, Zumba Instructor reviews Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Grappling Mastery has established itself as an important part of the community. Brian Ruscio is a highly trained First Degree Black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. He also has a life time of experience in wrestling. Brian is an amazing instructor and makes sure the gym maintains a family and team atmosphere at all times. One of the most amazing things is Brian believes it is important that every female should be able to defend theirselves in today’s society. No other place offers FREE self defense classes for women. By offering a free self defense class to all ladies, it proves he cares about our community. My son also enjoys the gym, he is heavily involved in the Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, the Muay Thai, the wrestling, and the conditioning classes. My son has truly grown under the watchful eye of both Brian and his fellow teammates. I love Grappling Mastery, not just for its high level teaching of a diverse range of martial arts, but also for the family and team that makes this place 100 times different from the typical martial arts gym. Everyone is welcome and treated like family from day one, by all the members. Thank you Brian for establishing such an amazing place in our community.”

Brandi Rust, Behavioral Health Tech & Mother

Brandi Rust, Behavioral Health Tech & Mother

“Can’t say enough about Brian and his team! They inspire, teach discipline, respect, and all while having fun. So glad my family has become a part of something so wonderful. Amazing gym and such a wonderful crowd. Brian and his team are excellent. I have watched my son grow so much in such a short amount of time under their watchful eyes. They are always working to bring out the best in all of their students. They encourage teamwork while teaching how to be an individual. Really can’t say enough good things. Its more like a family there and I am glad we are a part of it.

You expect great things from your children, but you learn how to be realistic with a child that has sensory problems early on. You learn their limits fast and try not to push too far past those too fast. Most people know my awesome fun loving son, but haven’t seen what it took to get there. He amazes me all the time, but on this day he really went past his limit and way beyond. He showed strength, heart, control, and above all respect. He put it out there on the mat then with the exception of a few heartbroken minutes he left it there and told me what he was going to work on in the future. I am proud to call him my son and I have seen the struggles we went through break through the clouds to a beautiful moment. It’s almost too much and I never though Jiu Jitsu of all things would bring this out of him. So thank you Brian Ruscio and Rita Rojas, you have given me something way more precious than any medal he could bring home.

John Dalziel, 66 year old, Riding Instructor at Metropolitan Police

John Dalziel Riding Instructor at Metropolitan Police

“It’s been a long time since I did Judo, 35 years ago. Next month I will be 66 and today I started Jiu Jitsu. I have type 1 diabetes, this ITP thingy which nearly killed me 2 years ago, duff knees, bad back, and a clear case of CRAZY. This seems to be a good way to get fit, and in preparation I lost 10 lbs in the last three weeks, and as those who know me I am not a very competitive person, so no competitions YET!!!!! I am not as sore as I expected to be, met some great people today, great instruction, and am looking forward to the next session.”

 

Ted “Doc” Kendall, Navy Field Medic

Ted "Doc" Kendall, Navy Field Medic

“I was completely blown away with the style of teaching that Brian brings to the table. He is able to explain things in multiple ways until you understand when, how, and why you are doing certain techniques. The atmosphere is one of learning where everyone helps everyone and you never have to worry about being an odd man out of a new group. From beginners to veterans you will always learn something new every day.

I have trained in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu with several gyms throughout the east coast for a year prior to joining Grappling Mastery and I must say Brian has the best school I have ever had the honor to train at. I have been at this gym for a little over a year now and I’ve watched him transform not only myself but many others into top of the line grapplers and teammates. From the moment you walk in the door be it kids or adults,beginners or seasoned veterans of the sport are always made to feel welcome. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a quality experience in the sport of Jiu Jitsu.

Jaimie Goldsmith, Mother and Insurance Agent

Jaime and Preston Goldsmith

This academy is truly outstanding! My son has attended since November 2014 and he is a tough one to like any activity but from the first class Brian (instructor/owner) made him interested! Brian has the unique ability to keep the kids involved & focused on the task at hand. Plus with Rita as his right hand, they make the perfect team the kids look up to and actually listen to. Even though this is located 30 minutes from my house 100% worth it!”

Chris Lowe, Firefighter

Chris Lowe, Firefighter

 “I’ve known Brian Ruscio since 2005 and trained for a few years with him in Orlando. I decided I would travel to Mt. Dora from Lakeland, FL and train with him. Grappling Mastery was very clean and professionally ran by Brian. His techniques were awesome and his students welcomed me as a visitor and made me feel at home. When I arrived for jiu jitsu I learned that they were starting with yoga Monday through Wednesday from 6-6:30 and I hadn’t planned on taking a yoga class but Brian invited me to join him and I’m glad I did it was an excellent way to warm up, gain flexibility, and that lends itself to safer training as well. Again if you are looking to train as a guest or you’re looking to find an excellent school I would highly recommend Grappling Mastery.”

Christina Carroll, Mother

Christiana and Keanu Carrol

“Grappling Mastery… it’s the BEST style of martial arts I’ve experienced in town! Brian was very kind and was patient and soft spoken with my little man! My son was excited to go back and quickly learned the moves! I HIGHLY recommend THIS martial arts facility! And trust me… I have tried them all… This one has NO comparison. That’s how much we loved this facility! Try it 30 days free, no gimmicks, really! You’ll be hooked!”

Jose Usquiano

Awesome, Brian was always a great athlete. He is a very thoughtful guy and also strong, his background in wrestling makes him dangerous. Great teacher!!!!!

Michael F. Jenkins

Michael F Jenkins reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Brian is extremely knowledgeable, friendly and humble. He is very patient with the kids and us older learners. Everyone at Grappling Mastery was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!”

Tom Benitez, 63 years old, Photographer

Tom Benitez 63 year old reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

 “I started training at Grappling Mastery about 4 months ago. Brian Ruscio is a patient, knowledgeable coach and the academy is family friendly for all ages. I am now trying to get my 6 year old into BJJ as I think it will be a great experience for him. I would recommend Grappling Mastery to anyone without hesitation.”

Katie Joseph, Mother, Sales

Katie Mother of Serenidy Joseph Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery
“I took my daughter here in March 2015 because we were looking to get her into MMA. She has been loving the classes as well as the great teachers! I even started private sessions with Brian and the women’s Brazilian Jiu Jitsu on Saturdays. If you truly want to learn what Grappling Mastery has to offer then come check out the growing family.”

David Robarge II, Web Designer

David Robarge II Reviews Grappling Mastery

“Since I was 9 years old, I have studied many forms of self defense from; Tae Kwon Do, Boxing, and Eagle Claw Kung Fu. Out of all the different facilities that I have trained at, they are nothing like the Grappling Mastery. I have just started there about 3 weeks ago and I already enjoy it more than any other facility that I have been to. The environment is Friendly, and everyone there helps one another achieve their best. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. It doesn’t matter how old you are, bring yourself, bring your kids, bring your parents. If you want a fun place to learn self defense skills and be part of a team with unlimited potential, then this is the place to be.”

Shane Croft, Father of Sage Croft

Shane Father of Sage Croft Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Over the past few years, my son has been fortunate to become one of the best teen grapplers in the country. We have had many, many coaches across many states, and I can clearly state that Brian Ruscio from Grappling Mastery is one of the very best. He can teach not only at the highest level of the sport for serious competitors, but also is incredible when working with beginners (patient, kind, and understanding). So if you are in his area, and interested in jiu-jitsu and wrestling, don’t think twice and go visit his school. You will never train anywhere else.”

Anthony Biasella, Police Captain

Police Captain Anthony Biasella Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I am pleased to announce that I have recently joined the Grappling Mastery family and I could not be happier with my choice! Professor Ruscio has created a positive environment for all athletes, regardless of their abilities. His patience and love for the sport is evident in his demeanor and teaching skills. His students are serious about their training regimen and reaching personal goals. The camaraderie amongst the team is a welcomed addition to every day life. I look forward to many years of learning from Professor Ruscio and the Grappling Mastery family!!”

Brian Cole, Father

Brian Cole reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Fantastic school to learn BJJ plus many other techniques. It’s like one big family! Professor Brian Ruscio is very knowledgeable and patient with his students. It’s a great family and positive environment.”

Michael Mashburn, MMA Trainer

Michael Mashburn reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I have trained in Jiu-Jitsu at various periods in my life since the late 1990’s. I started with Alliance Jiu-Jitsu in Atlanta. After a few years off, I trained under a Gracie Barra program where I used the knowledge to start competing in Jiu-Jitsu/Grappling. Once again after another few years off, I trained with American Top Team in Atlanta. I’ve had top-notch training at each of these places. I recently signed up for and completed the Grappling Mastery 30-day complementary trial period. What I can tell you about this place is that you will receive the highest level of instruction in a format that allows you to build the necessary reps to ingrain the information so that it will last far beyond a two min drill. It was the first time I had come across a format that lent itself best to the learning process of new information. Highly recommend. Check this place out!”

Mike Staton, Boxing Coach and Business Owner

Mike Staton Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“We are so pleased to find an instructor that has the patience, time, skill, great with kids, and all around passion to teach. It is great to learn from a Black belt instructor with Gracie lineage. My child was new to Jiu Jitsu and fell in love with the sport, he has progressed quickly thanks to great instruction. The best part about the school is the team atmosphere. Everyone helps everyone, what a great family and team we have become part of. It has been a long time since I have found an instructor with patience, solid character, actual experience, and respectable training. We definitely found a great instructor at Grappling Mastery. We have been in martial arts and the fight game for a long time and it is finally great to see someone who works so well with kids as well as adults.  It’s great to see a place where, from the instructor on down, you are treated like family. A place of respect and a true family atmosphere gym. Our family has been in fighting sports for many years and have trained with many fight instructors. It has always been difficult to find an instructor with knowledge, skill, and the ability to be professional. We have definitely found that in Grappling Mastery and it’s head instructor Brian Ruscio. We love the diversity of classes and the ability to work with individuals at your level. We wanted to learn from the best and we were willing to travel to find someone… we lucked out, right in Mount Dora, we found a professional high quality Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Black Belt. Brian has a diverse background and is a truly respectable instructor.”

Jorge “The Animal” Rodriguez, MMA Fighter, BJJ Blue Belt, and Motorcycle Mechanic

“I been training Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu for the past three and half years. I started in NY City and upon my move to Florida I started my search for a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu school that was welcoming and offered quality instructions with a variety and flexible schedule. During my search I came across many schools and I visited them all. Finally I came across Brian and Grappling Mastery, here I found a home. A school and an instructor with fundamentals and tons of knowledge. I did not only found a home for myself and my unorthodox ground game but I also found a coach that was willing to take me under his wings and show me everything he knows with out restrictions. He offers the same drive, passion and unrestricted knowledge to everyone that walks trough the door and his love for teaching and the art makes him exceptional and above anyone I have known. It was Brian’s passion and drive that made me take the next step and make the decision to fight MMA. Brian devoted quality time to my personalized training and ensured and re- assured I was ready in all aspects, physically and mentally. Because of his great coaching and care and the support of all members of the team, my first MMA victory is attributed to Brian and the Grappling Mastery team. I am proud to represent and be part of such an awesome school and have such an awesome coach like Brian Ruscio. It doesn’t get any better than this.”

Eric Hertel, BJJ Purple Belt and MMA/Kickboxing Instructor

Eric Hertel BJJ Purple Belt Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Awesome!!! Just Awesome!!! From the instructor, Brian Ruscio, to the teammates I train with! Doesn’t get any better.  I have studied jiu jitsu since 09, and have been out of the game for the last year. Until now, meeting Brian and now training at his new school is great. He is patient and explains the techniques in detail. He is great with the kids as well as us adults. If you’re looking for a jiu jitsu school in Lake County Brian and Grappling Mastery is the place to go! I began training with Brian about a month ago. The first thing I noticed is he is patient and explains the techniques in detail for all in the class to understand. Kids to adults. I have been studying jiu jitsu since 2009 and was forced to stop training when I moved to Lake Co. But now that I found Brian and Grappling Mastery I’m training again. His classes are fun and informative. And if your unable to do a technique a certain way do to a limitation, he will explain and show you a variation that will work. If you have wanted to train in jiu jitsu in the past now there is a place in Lake County to train. Grappling Mastery is the name.”

Fernando Reyero

Fernando Martin Reyero Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I have the great pleasure to Know Brian for over 11 years, and seen him learn and become the incredible athlete he is today. One thing that has always separated him from the crowd was his love for teaching and his ability to teach. His whole life has been around wrestling, fitness, Jiu Jitsu and Mixed Martial arts. I know of his dream of having his own school since early 2005 at least, and seeing this dream fulfilled with Grappling Mastery, makes me so proud of my friend and trainer. Anyone who would want to learn properly and reach the next step in their training should train with Brian, since he won’t only teach you martial arts but also help you develop as a better person. The devotion and focus to develop himself and others that I have seen in Brian, is something that makes him and His School Grappling Mastery very unique. So if you want to learn proper MMA, sportsmanship and train with someone that has devoted all his life to be a great athlete and teacher and NEVER give up, you need to train with Brian Ruscio and his team at Grappling Mastery.”

Tina and John Helms, Bulldog Tactical

Bulldog Tactical John and Tina Review Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“This training is one of the best things we have done for Johnny! Brian Ruscio is by far the most patient, caring, happy go lucky instructors out there. Johnny loves learning from him and he’s doing very well at it. My Lake county friends…this is the guy for you if you want your kids to learn from the best!”

Jeremy Miller

Jeremy Miller Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I finally got the opportunity to train at Grappling Mastery last night and was honestly impressed. He was very welcoming and had plenty of time for all of his students. The class was filled with enthusiasm and students were having a good time. Don’t miss your chance to train under a legitimate Gracie Barra black belt!  Definitely the best place to train Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu in Lake County! They also offer several types of wrestling and Muay Thai instruction as well. Professor Brian learned from the best and is willing and able to pass on his vast knowledge. If you’re serious about martial arts, you can’t go wrong with Grappling Mastery.”

Tim “Patterson” Dodson, Retired Professional Wrestler

Multiple World Mundial Champion, Gustavo "Gutty" Muggiati, Professor Brian Ruscio, Pro Wrestler Tim "Patterson" Dodson, Professor Marcio Simas, and Professor Rodrigo Lango

“I have known, and trained with Brian for almost 6 years. Not only is Brian a great trainer, but he also offers a unique approach since he was experienced in freestyle wrestling before becoming a black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. This creates a training curriculum you just won’t find anywhere else. Whether you are an experienced grappler or just testing the waters to see if you will enjoy training, Brian will be able to help you.”

Chuck Pivetz, Business Owner

Chuck Pivetz Review of Professor Brian Ruscio at Grappling Mastery

“I have trained with Brian for over 3 years and have learned more about the art of Jiu-Jitsu from him than anyone else. What a great gym he has created and great family. My experience at Grappling Mastery has been positive and exciting. I am trying to grow my knowledge and ability in Jiu Jitsu and other mixed martial arts. I have improved my skill level and knowledge under Brian in these areas of Jiu Jitsu: Takedowns, Guard Passing, Sweeps and Submissions. If you want to learn self-defense, stay in shape, or choke someone out with their own shirt, this is the place for you. The school has become a second family and everyone is willing to help others improve. We even attend UFC/Metamoris parties as a group. There are no egos and we have fun learning with Brian’s patient instruction.  You wont find a better instructor than Brian. As a practitioner he is accomplished having won Pan Ams in the expert adult black belt division. As an instructor his experience shows in his patience with the young ones and the new students also. He teaches for self defense and competition. I am proud to say my lineage begins with Brian on my own journey to black belt.”

Lucas Martineau

Lucas Martineau Review of Grappling Mastery

“Outstanding instruction! Definitely an awesome learning environment and it feels like one big family! Brian and Rita genuinely care about your progress and growth in Jiu Jitsu! No one is out to prove anything which creates a very comfortable and welcoming class setting. The physical benefits are amazing and you learn a skill. Give it a try… you’ll be addicted! Top Notch training! Im so happy to have found this school and its instructors! Like one big family! I definitely recommend this school to any one looking! See you on the Mats.”

Jason Weber, Business Owner

Jason Weber Kids BJJ Review of Professor Brian Ruscio and Grappling Mastery

“Along with my wife I brought my boys to this gym a year ago. They have come a long way through diligent practice and focus on training lead by the amazing coaches at Grappling Mastery. I can’t begin to explain how proud I am of not only their results in competition but also the discipline and sportsmanship that is impressed upon them during their training. I couldn’t be more proud of them or happier in the choice of gyms and coaches than I am with Grappling Mastery. There is simply no better an instructor than Brian, He is a great teacher with adults and children. He teaches patience and honor along with attention to technical practice. I am proud to say he is my coach and will be as long as long as he is teaching.

We are at two years now and our whole family are now members along with the stellar children’s classes my wife and I are in the adult classes and we are loving it. A great way to stay in shape lose weight and learn a valuable skill. The kids have grown so much in the past year in Jiu Jitsu and with the ever growing team at grappling mastery have moved on to many competition wins. They have also had losses and they have taken them as learning experiences. This is a great family oriented gym and I do consider many of its members family!”

Jay Pagan

Jay Pagan review of Grappling Mastery

“Unique training. Multifaceted … and flexible, the coaching and staff really know how to teach BJJ to anyone, of any capability, and special needs. Talented group. After a few classes the knowledge you have can be applied immediately as a matter of protection or competition. Exhilarating … And a great way to stay fit physically and emotionally.”

Jamie Asmus

Jamie Asmus reviews Grappling Mastery

“I’m very pro-active and women (and men) need to know how to defend themselves. You offer a great free program and it would behoove a lot of people, women and girls especially to get some sort of at least a basic self defense course. Don’t become a victim, learn how to think defensively and avoid a situation that could be dangerous.”

Aron J Bland, Army Staff Sergeant & MMA Fighter

Aron Bland MMA Fighter reviews Grappling Mastery

“Great Class for all levels!  As a professional fighter I have worked with many talented coaches and many great gyms.  However, I can honestly say I have found my home here.  The level of knowledge and professionalism is bar none the best I have ever experienced. Currently training at Grappling Mastery with head coach Brian Ruscio. A Gracie Barra Black Belt, and damn good wrestler. I have never seen anyone combine the two styles so well.  Great Team! Brian brings a wealth of knowledge from many styles. As a professional fighter and active duty Soldier I have worked out with many great people and at many great gyms. I can say confindently Grappling Mastery is by far one of the most complete Teams I have ever worked out with! Great instruction for all levels, if you are in the area I highly suggest you check out Grappling Mastery!”

Michael Guido, Operations Manager

Mike Guido reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Brian is an amazing instructor, with an incredible nack for not only showing me proper techniques in my training but also taking the time to explain the do’s and don’ts in detail. he is extremely professional, knowledgeable and patient. He has not only taught me in the school, he has given me diet regiments and coached me in my workouts for me to excel with my brazilian jiu jitsu. I would recommend him to know one a million times over!!! Not only has jiu jitsu changed my life, but Brian plays the other half of the change in my life!”

Kai “The Hammer” Staton

Kai "The Hammer"

“Great coach, Brian is helping me learn BJJ to make me a better MMA fighter. I really like the way he teaches and helping me learn the ground game.  Grappling Mastery is a great gym and Brian Ruscio is a great coach, he is very patient and teaches me both the basics and advanced techniques. I like that the whole Grappling Mastery team supports each other, in and out of the gym. After fighting for 6 years, I decided I wanted to try MMA. I already knew Boxing and Muay Thai, but I had no experience fighting on the ground. I started at Grappling Mastery 18 months ago, Brian has taught me so much in that time. Although I have a lot to learn, I feel very comfortable fighting on the ground now. Of all the fighting coaches I have had, Brian is easily my favorite. He understands my goals and is making sure I achieve them.”

Margie Bou, Mother and Nurse

Margie Bou Review of Grappling Mastery

“I train here with my daughter. It’s perfect not just in learning self-defense, but it gets us moving. Brian was also very accommodating to my schedule, which usually prevents me from participating in group classes. Brian is awesome, even in a group class he takes the time to review each move with you. As a beginner this is a plus. The Grappling Mastery group is like a family.”

Allison Folgore, Mother and Business Owner

Paul and Allison Folgore Review of Grappling Mastery

“I cannot explain how excited my son is to go to class everyday! He loves it! The staff are hands on and extremely patient, but stern in the choice to teach the kids. My son knew nothing about BJJ before, but loves it. Practices all the time. If you are looking for a place that is kid/family friendly, growing with potential, and run by all around good people, this is the place :) (Mom to one extremely active, stubborn, and outgoing 6 year old.)”

Ken Roberts, Armed Security

Ken Roberts with Mike Chiesa photo for Review of Grappling Mastery and Professor Ruscio

“Grappling Mastery is more than just a great BJJ and MMA academy, it is a growing community. We not only help and learn from each other, we communicate and hang out with each other outside of class, too. We’ve helped each other move, gone bowling, been to each other’s homes and our kids have socialized and played together outside of class. That’s the kind of camaraderie you’ll find at Grappling Mastery. You’ll not only learn great self-defense defense, you’ll meet some great people as well.  I enjoyed the class immensely. Being a little familiar with different types of disciplines and instructors through the years, I can honestly say that Brian has the demeanor of a true martial artist. No matter what your level of training, Brian will be patient and helpful in his instruction. I highly recommend Grappling Mastery, to anyone with a teachable attitude! Brian Ruscio is one of the most patient people I’ve ever met. It was one of the first things I noticed about him. After attending his classes and getting to know him better, I can also unequivocally say he is a man of integrity. If he tells you he’s going to do something he does it. A very rare thing nowadays. These two traits along with his knowledge, skill, expertise and experience, make him quite a force. He immediately earns your respect. As a father, I greatly appreciate the example he sets for my children as well as others. You simply will not find a better martial arts academy in Lake County than Grappling Mastery, period. Don’t even waste your time looking elsewhere. Just take my word for it.”

Heather Brooks, Mother

Heather Brooks Mother of Jordan reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Awesome instructor. Brian (and Rita) are very patient with my son when he needs help. He’s a beginner and they are excellent with him even in a group setting.”

Don Johnson, Sales

Don Johnson reviews Grappling Mastery

“Great classes! Brian really takes the time to work with you and show techniques in depth. I look forward to continue training with him at each and every class.”

Kevin Martincowski, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Purple Belt

Kevin Martincowski reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Brian Ruscio was one of my instructors for 3 years, and I can tell you he’s a great one! He is extremely friendly and never too busy to help. Genuinely cares about his students, and will spend however much time you need to comprehend a technique or position.”

Harriet Medrozo, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Harriet Medrozo, Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences Teacher

“I’ve had the pleasure of working with Brian a few years back when I trained at my local Brazilian Jiu Jitsu academy. He is very personable, professional, and knowledgeable about the sport. Brian’s integrity and commitment to the sport projects what all students of this sport need to also display. He is patient, and works with the students not only on good, solid technique, but also on varieties for those who need to modify their style. I appreciate his excellent customer service and willingness to work with the community as well. As a former teacher for Orange County Public Schools, I’ve asked Brian to participate in the annual Teach-In event in which professionals from the community give back and come to schools to inform students about different career opportunities and such. Brian was to speak about the importance of self-confidence and motivation in life to students grades 4-5.  I recommend Brian Ruscio for his excellent personality, professionalism, expertise on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, and high integrity.”

Jennifer Hovestadt

Jennifer Hovestadt reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I had the opportunity to train under Brian Ruscio for about 2 years.  As a woman I did a lot of research on what to expect prior to attending my first class.  In spite of that, I still couldn’t help feeling a little “out of place” at times.  Brian had a way of putting everyone at ease though and I always learned a lot when he was training the class.  I was often able to drill and train directly with Brian, and he would always explain how to execute certain moves in a way that made sense to me.  I feel I got the most out of class when training with Brian.  I still remember learning the Scissor Sweep and getting it right for the first time while training with him!  Brian never made me, or anyone for that matter, feel out of place or like we were wasting his time.  He is a very friendly, patient and knowledgeable teacher.  If you are thinking about training with him, do yourself a favor and just do it!  You will not regret it.”

Shariq Khan, Director at Wyndham/Marriott, Purple Belt in BJJ

Shariq Khan Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I have known Brian since 2006; he has demonstrated many attributes which make him a success. He is extremely personable which enables him to work well with others. He has always demonstrated a high degree of integrity which makes clients trust and respect him. He has in-depth knowledge of ju-jitsu and personal training which makes him an ideal coach and trainer.”

Hector Cordova Sr., Owner & President at HXC Consulting, LLC

Hector Cordova Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“I met Brian Ruscio at Gracie Barra Orlando when he was working his way up to Black Belt in BJJ. He has always been very friendly and helpful. Brian is very patient and detailed-oriented, has never taken advantage of his skill level and has always toned down his training to the level of the individual. He works with a diverse group, from kids to teens, and seniors some in their 50’s or higher. From the student to the professional Brian always seems to be able to deliver a great experience every time. You always come out learning something new.”

Joey Green, Software Developer

Joey Green Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Brian does a great job of managing one of the most popular Brazilian Jiu Jitsu schools in Central Florida and the World. (Gracie Barra) Brian always takes his time with instruction and is always patient with students of every level.”

Jamie Hoover, Father

Jamie Hoover Reviews Grappling Masterys Kids Anti Bully Program with Professor Brian Ruscio

“Excellent training.. omg, this place is awesome, and they work with you and show you the correct way.  They are very patient even for an old guy like me. The boys love it here. They are always eager to come. A huge thanks to the excellent trainers that have the patience to teach my boys something new.  You can look and look, but I promise you, you will never find another instructor like Brian. He is patient, knowledgeable, and dedicated in teaching BJJ. As soon as you walk in the doors and meet Coach Brian, you can see how much he loves the sport. I would highly, highly recommend anyone whether your new and just want to see what it’s like or you have been practicing and rolling for years, to just go and speak with coach.. you will not regret it. Such a great coach, and guy.”

Ralph Dozier, Retired

“Brian is a highly motivated, detail orientated professional. Brian has worked extremely hard to rise to the top of his profession, while also maintaining a very diverse background.”

Sarah Matheson, Personal Trainer, Business Owner

Sarah Matheson Garcia Personal Trainer Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio Grappling Mastery

“Excellent Instructions!  I watched Brian come into the sport and manage a (Gracie Barra Jiu Jitsu) school while earning his way to a black belt. As he progressed Brian was always polite, welcoming, helpful, fair and professional. I watched Brian work with kids, including his own son, and adults with patience and understanding. If you’re considering training somewhere it would be a good place to train. He has a good wrestling and martial arts background, as well as an overall knowledge and understanding of physical fitness as it relates to sports. I have known Brian for many years. I have seen him come into Gracie as a blue belt and work his way up to a black belt. He was the manager at Gracie for years where he learned how to deal with customers. He has great skills with kids. He teaches in a way that is safe, fun and effective. Motivation and encouragement is a primary force behind his methodology. I would suggest this school for anyone ranging from child to seasoned fighter.”

Leslie McQuilkin, Tae Kwon Do Black Belt

Leslie McQuilkin Tae Kwon Do Black Belt Reviews Grappling Mastery

“Fun, great exercise… tiring. Wonderful instruction. From Brazillian Jiujitsu! wrestling,! Boxing! Muay Thai! Tae Kwondo! and MMA competitors you have a perfect mix. fun, super affordable, friendly, and professional. I wouldn’t go anywhere else.”

Alexander Scopino, Real Estate Agent

Alexander Scopino Reviews Grappling Mastery Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy

“Great teacher, great folks. Brian knows how to break the moves down so even beginners can understand how and WHY they work.  I’ve been training at grappling mastery now for a year and a half. I can’t say enough about the team, people and instructor. Coach Brian’s understanding of technique is unparalleled. He takes time in class to answer questions and is quick to point out the details that make the techniques work. The people of Grappling Mastery are amazing. The higher belts are willing to help you improve any chance they can and always willing to work with you. I can’t recommend Grappling Mastery enough.  As popular as BJJ is, you won’t find a better instructor or better school. Not only is Brian a world class black belt but he has the knowledge, foresight and patience to teach moves so everyone can understand them from beginner to advanced. He has created a friendly and welcoming environment where even the newest student can feel at home. Just the other day I was having trouble with a move when it seemed like the rest of the class had gotten it. He took the time out to explain it in different ways until I got it. I couldn’t recommend him highly enough.”

Christopher Gerkin

Christopher Gerkin review of Grappling Mastery BJJ Academy

“The best place for martial arts I’ve beer been to.  The atmosphere is relaxed enough to enjoy learning but has the intensity to make you strive for achievement .”

Christina Noel

Christina Noel Reviews Grappling Mastery BJJ Academy

“I got to try a class out recently and it kicked my butt!! Awesome trainers and a great group of people to be in class with.”

Camilo Mogollan, Marine Infantry/Mortarman and BJJ Blue Belt

“Master different arts!  Grappling Mastery offers you not one but many different Martial Arts to choose from in the Tavares area. I have known Head Instructor, Brian Ruscio for many years and I know the quality and dedication he has towards his students and love for the Martial Arts.”

Jose Andres

“He’s a good teacher! Will take his time to teach you the right way, with all his heart into it! And also very fun to do!”

Jason Cuatchon, BJJ Purple Belt

Jason Cuatchon BJJ Purple Belt Reviews Professor Brian Ruscio of Grappling Mastery

“Brian Ruscio is an excellent Black Belt Bjj instructor. Very technical and motivating. His wrestling background is an added bonus. Try out the free class, you’ll see what I mean.”

Wesley Smith, Business Owner

Wesley Smith Review of Grappling Mastery

“I haven’t been in the bjj world very long but felt right at home at Grappling Mastery. Brian is a great instructor, in so many ways.”

Ryan Swinford, Army Captain

Army Captain Ryan Swinford review of Grappling Mastery

“If you live in the Tavares, Eustis, Mt Dora area and are interested in adult, teen, or child instruction in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Muay Thai, or Judo I cannot recommend IBJJF Black Belt Brian Ruscio enough…absolutely the best instructor for all ages and skill levels in the area!!!  I looked around for quite a while searching for a place that trained kids. Most didn’t start until the kids are 12, but Brian started them at less than half that age! What I found at Grappling Mastery was not only a place where my seven year old son had a blast, learned an incredible amount about the sport of BJJ and self-defense, and made lots of friends, but a place where I could do the same. Brian promotes an atmosphere that is friendly while st the same time allowing for competition and hard rolling if desired. The one thing I thought my son would miss not being involved in traditional team sports is the team…I was very wrong. Grappling Mastery is an outstanding team and I would not train anywhere else!!!”